Sexual Harassment in Academic STEM Fields - A Fall 2018 Panel Discussion Series

square image with graph paper in background. white circle overlaid, with text "Sexual Harassment in Academic Stem Fields, 2018 Panel Discussion Series"
square image with graph paper in background. white circle overlaid, with text "Sexual Harassment in Academic Stem Fields, 2018 Panel Discussion Series"

In 2016, the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine assembled a committee under the oversight of the Committee on Women in Science, Engineering, and Medicine (CWSEM) to conduct a study on the impact of sexual harassment in academia on the career advancement of women in the scientific, technical, and medical workforce. A comprehensive report with recommendations will be published June 12, 2018.

In Fall 2018, the Institute for Research on Women and Gender, in collaboration with the Office of Research, ADVANCE, The Office for Health Equity and Inclusion, the College of Literature, Science and Arts (LSA), and the College of Engineering will host three public panel discussions to share findings and recommendations from the report.

The committee is chaired by Paula Johnson (National Academy of Medicine), a cardiologist and the 14th president of Wellesley College, and Sheila Evans Widnall (National Academy of Engineering), an aerospace researcher and Institute Professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology who served as United States Secretary of the Air Force between 1993 and 1997.

Three University of Michigan faculty serve on the committee of 21 experts: Anna Kirkland, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Women's Studies and Political Science, and Director of the Institute for Research on Women and Gender; Lilia Cortina, Professor of Psychology, Women's Studies, and Management and Organizations, and Associate Director of ADVANCE for the College of LSA; and Timothy Johnson, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, Bates Professor of the Diseases of Women and Children, Professor of Obstetrics/Gynecology and Women's Studies.

The committee reviewed existing research on the rates of incidence and negative impacts of sexual harassment towards women on college and university campuses, research labs, field sites, hospitals and medical centers, and the negative impacts on recruitment, retention, and advancement of women in science, technology, engineering and medicine. The study includes review and analysis of law, policies, strategies and practices that have been identified as successfully preventing and addressing sexual harassment in academic settings.

These three presentations will feature guest panelists from the National Academies committee discussing the report alongside experts from the University of Michigan. Intended audiences include faculty, researchers, postdoctoral fellows, medical residents, staff, and all levels of students in the Medical School, the College of Engineering, and the College of Literature, Science, and the Arts (LSA). The events will be free and open to the public.

Each panel will include a summary of the report, discussion from National Academies committee members, commentary from disciplinary experts, and discussion with the audience. A catered reception will immediately follow for further conversation and networking. 

The individual panels include:

Sexual Harassment in Engineering

Monday, October 1, 2018

3:30 - 5:00 pm; Stamps Auditorium, North Campus


  • Gilda A. Barabino, Dean and Daniel and Frances Berg Professor at The Grove School of Engineering at The City College of New York (CCNY), and National Academies committee member 
  • Alec D. Gallimore, Robert J. Vlasic Dean of College of Engineering, University of Michigan 
  • Allison Steiner, Associate Professor, Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering, College of Engineering, University of Michigan 

Sexual Harassment in Science

Thursday, October 18, 2018

4:00 - 5:30 pm; Rackham Amphitheater

Introduction: Andrew D. Martin, Dean, Professor of Political Science and Statistics, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts, University of Michigan


  • Elizabeth L. Hillman, President of Mills College, National Academies committee member
  • Kathryn Clancy, Associate Professor of Anthropology, University of Illinois, National Academies committee member
  • Timothy McKay, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, Professor of Physics, Astronomy, and Education, University of Michigan

Sexual Harassment in Medicine

Monday, November 12, 2018

4:00 - 5:30 pm; Kahn Auditorium, Biomedical Science Research Bldg

Introduction: Timothy R.B. Johnson, Bates Professor of the Diseases of Women and Children, Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, and Women’s Studies, University of Michigan


  • Paula A. Johnson, President of Wellesley College, National Academies committee co-chair
  • Reshma Jagsi, Professor and Deputy Chair in the Department of Radiation Oncology at Michigan Medicine and Director of the Center for Bioethics and Social Sciences in Medicine, University of Michigan
Twitter icon Facebook icon Google icon LinkedIn icon e-mail icon