Community of Scholars Symposium

Event Date: 
September 22, 2017
Event Time: 
9:00am to 4:00pm
2239 Lane Hall
Event Accessibility : 
Ramp and elevator access at the E. Washington Street entrance (by the loading dock). There are accessible restrooms on the south end of Lane Hall, on each floor of the building. A gender neutral restroom is available on the first floor.
Event Tags: 

Please register if you plan to stay for lunch:

The Community of Scholars is comprised of recipients of 2017 summer fellowships from IRWG and the Rackham Graduate School for graduate students pursuing research, scholarship, or creative activities focusing on women and/or gender. 

To encourage cross-disciplinary exchange, the fellows participated in a weekly seminar in May and June, during which they discussed their work-in-progress. In July and August, they dispersed for research and writing. They reconvene for the annual Community of Scholars Symposium, to share the product of their summer’s work with each other and a broader audience.

The fellows have designed the panels for this symposium to showcase the conversations across disciplines and fields about scholarship on women and gender that emerged during the summer seminar.


Opening Remarks (9:00-9:10am): Associate Professor Victor Mendoza

9:10 - 10:40 pm • Finding work 
Panel Chair: Kathleen Canning, Professor of History, Women’s Studies, and German 
Allison Caine
Mary Hennessy
Sangita Saha 

10:40 am - 12:10 pm • Unruly Methods
Panel Chair: Diana Louis, Assistant Professor of American Culture and Women’s Studies
Filipa Melo Lopes
Jennifer Rubin 
Lauren Benjamin

12:10 LUNCH

1 - 2:30 pm • Borders/Boundaries 
Panel Chair: Maria Cotera, Assoc. Professor of American Culture and Women’s Studies
Severina Scott
Hoda Bandeh-Ahmadi
Annie Bolotin 

2:30 - 4 pm • Attachments 
Panel Chair: Sara McClelland, Assistant Professor of Psychology and Women’s Studies
Vivian Luong
ToniAnn Treviño
Spencer Garrison